Sorority Advice for a OOS student?

<p>I am a OOS student from the Midwest who knows little about the process of joining a sorority. I have already been accepted to Alabama and have applied to the Honors College. If I decide to attend Alabama I plan on rushing a sorority, but the whole process seems pretty confusing and I don’t even know anyone involved in Greek life at their college since it doesn’t seem to be as popular here in the Midwest as it is in the south. </p>

<p>I’ve read up on the basics of recruitment at Alabama and I understand there are phases of rushing and pledging, but that’s about it. What steps should I take before getting to campus? What exactly is preview day and is it important I attend? And I hear I’ll need letter of recs? When do I send those in? I feel like I’m at a disadvantage being OOS since I know basically no one who’s ever been in a sorority- teachers and friends of my parents included… Any advice is appreciated!</p>

<p>Bump! I have similar questions about this!!! Except I’m planning on going from Midwest to South Carolina. I think it’s all similar though because they’re both in the south! BUMPPPP</p>

<p>I am a current UA student and am from Iowa! I also didn’t know much about the rush process before I came here. Direct message me and I can give you some advice. If you don’t have enough posts to message me, you can ask direct questions here too</p>

<p>Komm, being out of state at Alabama is no big deal. 60% of the students are OOS, and that pretty much extends to sorority members. However, you do need to bring your A game to recruitment. Go here uapanhellenic.com/main.html and read, read, read. Click on “recruitment” and scroll down to the “Greek Chic” tab. This is the “magazine” that all potential new members receive in the mail right before recruitment. You can read it now for lots of info.
Another good place for info: thesororitylife.com.
And another: sororitygirl101.com.