Sports while Completing the IB program.

Hi all,
I’m a sophomore in the pre-IB program, and want to know how many sports is realistically too much when completing the IB program? I have 5 pre-IB courses and 2 electives but want to play at least one sport…and more if I could handle it.
I plan on attending an Ivy League school, so not only need a rigorous course load, but I need to ace my classes so don’t want to over-extend myself.
I also don’t want to sign up for sports and then drop out mid-year.
So how many sports do most IB students take and still earn A’s?

DS played 1 winter high school sport which required 6x per week participation. Played fall and spring club sport requiring 3-5x per week participation. 4.0 uw. Good test taker, solid student, but limited ECs. Attending ucla. Accepted ucb and other UCs . Denied brown.

Most of the IB kids at DS school do 1 or 2 seasons of sport during the year. Some drop from 2 season to 1 junior year. It all depends on how hard the academic work is for you and the demands of the sports. YMMV.

My kid did a fall and Spring sport the first three years but it’s dropping to just one sport for senior year. If you have a Spring sport be aware that IB exams cannot be rescheduled so if you have a conflict between an IB test and athletic event you have to take the test.

My sweet girl attended a full IB private school. In middle school (public school) she played lacrosse and soccer and loved volleyball as well. She also played the violin in the school orchestra. When we/she decided on the private school IB program we/she had to consider 1) what activities she was most passionate about 2) if she would be good enough to earn scholarships at the schools she would be applying to and 3) if she would attempt to play the sport in college if she didn’t receive a scholarship.