Spring 2009 Students

<p>Where are you guys? lol...</p>

<p>This board needs some activity! :)</p>

<p>This can be a cool place for discussions and questions or to just chat about UMiami.</p>

<p>I'm a international transfer student and i'm stoked to go. How about you?</p>

<p>Plus, anybody know about their housing yet? or the best dorms?</p>

<p>Avoid the dorms like the plague. Stay in Eaton or the apartments if you must.</p>

<p>well, i have Eaton as a first choice, but how is it different than any of the other dorms?</p>

<p>and are the dorms really that bad? i can't seem to find anything online which talks about it.</p>

<p>My son is a freshman living in Stanford. Both Stanford and Hecht, the high-rises, are primarily filled with freshmen and are co-ed by floor. They are utilitarian with group bathrooms. The rooms themselves are small, but are definitely workable for two people; many kids "bunk" their beds, virtually doubling their space; some kids put futons, TVs, video games, refrigerators and microwaves under the beds. At the beginning of the year, the architecture(?) students have a thriving business bunking the beds; I don't know if this is offered mid-year. My son has made many good friends in his dorm; for him, the high-rises are perfect. BTW, if you're going to the high-rises, Hecht has renovated elevators and a renovated lobby; Stanford doesn't. Both dorms are noisy, given the nature of freshmen.</p>

<p>Kids who complain about Hecht and Stanford have likely never lived away from home before going to college - i.e., sleep away camps, multi-month class trips, or community service trips where you live in gyms or in churches. Having that type of group-living experience will make living in Hecht and Stanford non-problematic.</p>

<p>That said, as a transfer student, unless you're a freshman, you might want to look at the other dorms, which are filled mostly with sophomores, juniors and seniors.</p>