Spring 2014 Transfer Questions -- GPA, Mitigating Circumstances, Ws

<p>'ello all,</p>

<p>I am a CC student planning to apply to UW-Madison for as a Spring 2014 transfer.</p>

<p>UW's admission page states that transfer applicants should have a GPA >=3.0. I am sure that I will have this. Most likely, I will be in the 3.3 - 3.4 range at the time of application; by the end of the Fall semester, I expect it to be between 3.5 and 3.6.</p>

<p>My GPA was brought down by a semester of Cs during the Fall of 2012. During this time, I was homeless due to severe family circumstances, which made school difficult (homelessness following my mom's death). The Spring and Summer 2012 semester are full Ws, due to, again, severe family circumstances (mom dying, homelessness). Counting the Summer Ws, I attended 3 different colleges in two different states in 2012; one college, the one I attended Spring 2012 for, I only have Ws at (mom died, had to W, cannot afford to return -- it is 60k/a year). Prior to that, I have a semester with a B - B+ average, and I expect this semester to be an A average. Summer 2013 -- 12 credits -- is expected to be an A average. </p>

<p>I have a GED. I finished college early [at age 15] through homeschooling. I meet all HS requirements.</p>

<p>I have not taken the ACT or SAT since the 7th grade, when I took it (SAT) to gain admission into John Hopkins University's Center For Talented Youth program.</p>

<p>I have solid EC involvement. I have served on the board and board committees of non-profits, an advisory council of a major non-profit, had a writing piece read on national radio, served as a volunteer case manager for a mental health non-profit, etc. I specialize in LGBTQ mental health advocacy.</p>

<p>I want to major in Human Development, but am aware it is competitive.</p>

<p>I am a Northern IL state resident, ie NW Chicago Suburbs, with ties to Wisconsin, ie guardian grew up there, family lives there, etc.</p>