St. Paul's School: Ask me anything (lacrosse mom)

Hi all.
I’m a parent with a 3rd form (Freshman) son at St. Paul’s School (SPS) in Concord, NH.
What can I answer for you???

• boys lacrosse
  • public school to private/boarding school
  • twins away from home

Have your twins commented on the work load and academic expectations at SPS versus their former public school ?

I am a current student (4th form/sophomore) at SPS, so feel free to ask me questions as well!

How well do students enjoy going to the chapel 4-5 times a week. Is it non denominational?
Also how many hours a day do you spend on home work/ office hours as a freshman/ sophomore and junior? Can you shed some light on the Voice program at SPS
Thank you

Chapel is personally one of my favorite parts of the day. A lot of students like it except for the fact that it’s really early. We attend chapel 4 days a week, and it’s more like an assembly than a religious service. During chapel, we start by singing a hymn together, and then the “program” of the day starts. The program can consist of chapel talks (teachers, students, sometimes visitors), and student musicians sometimes perform their instrument. We occasionally have special chapel for cultural celebrations – for the Mid-Autumn Festival this year, the Asian Society put together a performance of traditional Chinese dance, music, and the Chinese classes recited poems.

St. Paul’s is Episcopal, but I believe the school sometimes offers services for other religions. Taking an elective about religion is also a graduation requirement. I think the school does a really good job of educating students about different religions while simultaneously not forcing one particular religion on us.