[stay at] Colby vs [transfer to] Northwestern vs Barnard for History & Spanish

Hi! I am a freshman at Colby College and I applied to transfer in the fall but have made friends who I really love and who make the rest of the school a little better. I got accepted to Northwestern and Barnard, both of which I love, so now I’m deciding whether I should stay at Colby, transfer to Northwestern, or transfer to Barnard. I am a history and Spanish double major at Colby (it doesn’t have comparative literature), but I would be a comp lit/history major (and hopefully a Spanish minor) at either of these other schools. Does anyone have any input as to where I should go?? Or does anyone have any advice regarding how to make this decision? Thank you!!!

1 Like

I went to Northwestern (years ago – I’m a parent) and it’s a great school. However, it is a very big school – much larger than Colby. So you need to be careful not to get lost or overlooked.

As far as Barnard is concerned, every single person I know who went there was brilliant and became successful in their field. Of course the big thing about Barnard is that it’s smack in the middle of NYC.

I don’t think you can go wrong with either school academically but they are both way bigger than Colby.

1 Like

What is it about Colby that you originally liked, and what made you decide to transfer?

2 Likes

my sister goes to colby and is a senior and has had a good experience here. i didn’t like the school fall semester bc it’s kinda too remote for me and it’s very small. now, I am liking my classes more bc I’m taking stuff more related to my major and I have a good group of friends who I rly love. i am a presidential scholar at colby which held a lot of weight when I was originally deciding where to go.

The reason why I asked is because sometimes students want to transfer their first semester, but as they get used to the school, make friends, etc it is not uncommon for them to reconsider.

8 Likes