Student life after classes at TAMU

I have been accepted to TAMU for Fall 2015 for biology/zoology. I have visited the campus twice. I am a little concerned about student demographics. I live in Houston and consider myself more of a liberal. I enjoy hanging out with friends (kickbacks and parties) can anyone comment on the fun aspect of TAMU after school has finished. What do freshman students do for fun? I don’t really like country music and line dancing but have read threads that this is a popular activity for students. Thanks

A&M is so big that it is what you make it. There is a lot of country stuff to do in town, but that is because those things are popular and generate profit. There are 45,000+ students here and plenty of them probably share the same interests you do. The number is too big for there not to be some people attending the school not like you.

This is a conservative university though for sure, but there is a fair amount of diversity, differing ideologies, cultures and such. Because of the top 10% rule, you are definitely going to run into a narrow viewed red neck from back country Texas who doesn’t want to deal with any of your liberal views. On the other hand, you have a political teacher who is a lesbian, atheist, anarchist working/lecturing for A&M. The school has it all, but you do have to be willing to look for it.