Studying Abroad

<p>I’m starting to think about where I’d like to study abroad (probably Fall 2013) and was wondering if anyone here has had a particularly good experience with any program.</p>

<p>I’m an English and Polysci major and I’d like to study abroad somewhere in Europe, but I’m not sure where. There are so many cities that I’d like to go to; some of the ones that appeal to me most are Stockholm, Budapest, and Prague (based solely on my desire to travel to these cities and not considering the programs available for these places).</p>

<p>Just wondering if anyone has any insight. The options seem pretty overwhelming.</p>

<p>I’m not an expert in SA in Europe. However, I did want to say you are very wise to start thinking about the opportunity now. The best programs fill up quickly. Get to the study abroad office and get to know them as soon as you get settled at BAMA. With their help, you can begin researching the different countries and programs. Really think about what you want to get out of the experience. For some, it is an opportunity to travel. For others, it is an opportunity to do something amazing to support their study in their major. Remember, the cost of study abroad programs varies widely. Figure out how much you can spend. Being “poor” during this experience can really impact your happiness. Also, if you are OOS, make sure you find out if this impacts the cost of receiving credit at UA. Hope this helps.</p>

<p>Regin-
My daughter is currently studying in Belgium. It’s the Alabama in Belgium program led by Dr. Doug Gibler. I will tell you that she is having an amazing time. She’s majoring in Econ but minoring in PoliSci and French. The program for Belgium is PoliSci related. I think she’s getting credit for PSC 422 and PSC 413.