SUMaC 2022

Hello! I wanted to create a thread for people who are applying to SUMaC! If anyone has attended it before, please let me know how it is and how hard it is to get in. I have been competing in math competitions since 3rd grade and I’m a sophomore. I don’t have any achievements in AMC 10 or AMC 12 though. I am taking Calculus right now. Do you think I have a chance? Thanks in advance!

What really matters is your answers to the admission test. Your previous experience in AMC isn’t gonna help a lot though. I am also a sophomore applying for sumac this year and I have AMC10 DHR and AMC8 DHR and scored 135 in ACM10B this fall, so your competitive math experience isn’t very appealing.

Your experience in Calculus is really helpful for admission as the whole program is about advanced mathematics, I am taking AP Calc AB this year.

cool! thanks :slight_smile:

What are the general topics needed to work through the admissions test? I’m a bit stuck on how to approach questions 6-8.