Summer Science Program (SSP) 2021

I haven’t seen a board for this year yet, but here we go! This is my first time applying to SSP (in biochem) and I’m a junior. Do you have any views on in-person vs. online? Collaborative research? This is the forum for that.

Definitely prefer in-person, but we’ll have to see how vaccinations go. Online SSP would make it harder to really get to know your fellow participants.

I really don’t know, but I’m leaning to prefer it online. While, it’ll definitely be harder as blazingfury pointed out, but I doubt an in-person program would be possible. Many other selective summer programs have been completely transferred online and some like MITES/TASP have just been blatantly canceled. They did it online last year and don’t see why they wouldn’t again.

Anyone here submitted the financial Aid Form? How to submit that? Also, Is it necessary to add our PSAT or SAT scores? I haven’t taken one because of the Corona Pandemic

Not sure about the financial aid form, but I’m pretty sure standardized tests aren’t necessary. If you have any AP/IB/Subject Test scores that aren’t from the ACT or SAT, I would recommend listing those.

I hope they do have an in- person option. BU RISE just went completely online

If it’s online it will be infinitely more affordable. The only reason I even applied is because online SSP would bring the cost down to 3500 rather than 7000!!!

does anyone have IB scores that they are reporting? I just want to see what level everyone that is applying is at.

1 Like

SSP announced that it would go completely virtual for the 2021 program a few days ago! I wish it was in person though. I’ll like to see if it attracts more applicants this year now that it’s not in-person.

Anybody else applying international?

Also, bummed about the decision that it’s completely online, but it is what it is I guess :confused: