TAMU Engineering Honors

Hi, I was admitted to TAMU NUEN in November and I have applied to the honors program. I was wondering about how long does it take to get a decision and also what does being an honors student really involve? Thanks ?

bump

Are you applying for unviersity or engineering honors? Applied for engineering honors in November and heard back 1/4.

I applied for engineering honors. My application was marked as complete on 1/11. How hard would you say it is to get in?

@UniGirl815 , My son also completed his engineering honors app on 1/11. He hasn’t heard anything, yet. Have you?

@Thelma2 @AggieMomhelp , how are engineering honors decisions communicated (email, Howdy, snail mail, other?)

@CamandCam I haven’t heard anything. I’m really hoping to hear something back by the end of the month. Based on what @OSHA11 said, it sounds like that’ll be about the time.

I have zero experience with honors. ?

@CamandCam When my son applied to engineering honors it was through a portal and if you book mark that page and recheck it, that is the first place it will appear when they admit you. Typically its several weeks after you are admitted to engineering when you get your answer, but it can vary greatly. Unless something has changed it is only a couple of people that read all those engineering honors essays and process the applications, so anything that changes their schedule, effects the timeline.

In engineering honors, there is a 1 credit seminar class you’ll take your freshman year (ENGR 181H); you decide if you take it in the fall or spring. It involves going to hear different speakers about the various fields of engineering, and there was one short paper required this year (a summary of one lecture, I think).

Here are suggested engineering honors courses for freshmen in general engineering:

ENGR 102H – Engineering Lab I Computation – 2 credits
ENGR 216H – Experimental Physics and Engineering Lab II - 2 credits