TAMU Spring 2021 Transfer

Hi all,
I am a freshman neuro major at UT Dallas and I’m looking to transfer into the Biology program at Texas A&M next spring ( Spring 2021 ) . This semester, I did pretty bad in an upper level neuroscience class because of how intense and fast-paced it was, and I didn’t do very well in general chemistry 1 either. I was having a lot of trouble adjusting to college and all that, and finally, finally (!) I got my act together. Next semester, I’m repeating both neuroscience and gen chem 1 , and I am pretty confident I can receive an A in both classes.
So, my question is, how forgiving is A&M, and I guess specifically the College of Science, for transfers with a rough first semester, but tremendous improvement in the following semesters?

Thanks so much for your help !! :slight_smile:

They do like to see an upward trend so that’s good. Write a strong essay to help support why there was a low gpa semester as well!! Best of luck.

Hi! So I posted this a while ago but just to ask again:

For a few of my required courses, I received low grades my first semester, C’s and D’s.
However, I retook those courses this semester and received A+'s. Do you think the College of Science will be forgiving of my very low grades in the required courses if I replaced them with A’s? I also have reasons for poor performance last semester, and my current semester GPA is a 4.00 vs last semester’s 2.15 GPA.
I also will be taking community college classes over the summer and am confident I will be getting an A in all of those.

@pbj1738 I think if you can relay these difficulties in your essay, they may be forgiving considering circumstances. Just be sure to have all t’s crossed and i’s dotted! Have your essay proofed by several people. Good luck!!