Target schools for a data science master?

Hi I graduated from the University of Michigan last year with a 3.64 gpa with a major in computer science and a minor in math. I was in the college of engineering.

I am thinking about applying to graduate school for either a data science masters or a MFE. I don’t really want to go to the effort of studying for the GRE, eventually having to ask people for letters of recommendation, and working on my resume if I don’t think I have a shot at a top 20 program. Here are some stats:

• 3.637 gpa, minor in math major in computer science engineering

• Involved in a sorority, business club, 2 semesters of being a TA, 2 semesters of being a grader

• Haven’t taken the GRE yet, but on my ACT I had a 35 in math, 29 reading, 33 writing, so based off some calculators and studying so far I’m hoping for about a 160 reading, 165+ math

• Currently working at a big bank as a strat (quant). My work isn’t a data science heavy as I would like, but I’ve still been gaining good skills

• Doing Michigan alumni interviews

• American female.

Based on this, I would really appreciate getting a gauge for what schools I have a shot at. If anyone has any comments on the worth of a data science masters/ MFE I’d also be happy to hear them! Thanks!

My nephew graduated from Oakland University (Operations Management) and got his on-line data science masters degree from Cal Berkeley. I don’t know what his stats were, but he did have work experience and a publication.

Berkeley’s program is outstanding.

1 Like

I know that, as a Michigan alumna, this may be difficult to hear, but OSU has an amazing data science program… But seriously, it is true - check out their programs.

1 Like