Texas A&M Architecture/Chances

Hey guys!

I am a C/O 2024 student interested in studying architecture at TAMU. What is the admissions process like specifically for architecture? Would I even have a chance right now?
Stats: 3.4UW/3.7W
Rank 7XX/1600
ECs: Marching band, 50+ Service hours w/church, 5 figure Retail Acquisition business

1 Like

@r7antwo what are you ACT/SAT scores?
Your rank is in the 700s out of 1600 or 7%?

@ChristiR93 is the expert, she can weigh in.

You don’t specify In-State or OOS. OOS - basically forget it.

My DS (23) applied to a dozen architecture programs for this coming fall. We’re still waiting on about 1/2 of the decisions but the programs are frustratingly difficult to get into. They manage enrollment to a specific number usually based on studio seating. So while the overall school might have a 60% admission rate, the SoA is likely to be much lower than that.

You have a little bit of time but irrespective of TAMU, explore what other programs are out there and if they require an art portfolio or not (TAMU doesn’t).

I haven’t taken the SAT yet but I got a 1080 on the PSAT, so I estimate around the 1100ish area for SAT. 7XX rank means im around the 44th percentile as well.

I am in state.

I always reply honestly regardless of what it looks like. I think you have very slim chance of getting into Tamu in general. 2nd qtr and possibly low SAT isn’t enough. There are students with top qtr and 1300-1400s SAT getting blinn team right now.

Architecture is extremely small college. Very limited seating and thus very competitive. My advice is to have a really solid backup that you can go get your feet wet freshman year and try to transfer sophomore or just before junior year.