Texas A&M Computer Science ETAM

Hey there, I’m a freshman at A&M right now. I’ve heard many many things that Comp Sci doesn’t accept people who weren’t auto admit for the ETAM process. I had a rough first semester and so I think I’ll finish the year with a 3.3 - 3.4. Am I still competitive or am I done for?

The CS department will be better able to answer your question, if it is willing to.

There used to be stats on the ETAM web pages, but they appear to be no longer available.

CSCE23, Please post what you found out. I believe the TAMU ETAM SHAM is egregiously problematic. It is way too much of a gamble to attend A&M for any program that requires entry to a major after the fact of admission. It is like, telling high school seniors, you got admitted and then a year later, saying, “Oh by the way, we don’t have enough space in your selected degree plan. Pick something else or hit the road.” In my opinion, if you passed the classes–even if you were a C student (although you were an A student), you should be able to select what undergrad degree you wish to pursue. Even if you were to be offered your second choice–it is just that, your second choice–not what you may want to spend you time and money pursuing. The more I learn about this process, the more upsetting it is. If ETAM is not canceled or drastically changed, A&M is not a good choice at all.