Texas a&m info for future applicant

<p>I need some info from people who applied to a&m or have gotten in recently. I am a sophomore at a very highly competitive high school (Top 10 in Houston Area). I was wondering what do your stats have to look like in order to get into A&M. What GPA, class rank, sat..etc? What is the most important thing A&M looks at? My class rank is probably not in the top 10 or top 25%.</p>

<p>Thanks again
-andydandy</p>

<p>From greatest to least:
Class rank
Test scores
Rigor of classes
ECs
GPA</p>

<p>You're just a sophomore. Just work your class rank up to top 25% and take the SATs beginning of your junior year. 1300 M/CR + top 25% = Auto Admit.</p>

<p>A&M is not hard to get into.</p>

<p>Not hard to get into? Maybe not for the automatic admits, but tell that to the 30% of 24,000 freshmen applicants who didn't get in last year.</p>

<p>Only 30%? Lol;
Look at UT. 80% of their admitted students were in the top 10%. That means 9100 of their 11375 admitted students were in the top 10%. Therefore, that leads to only 2275 admitted students for the rest of non-top in-state 10% applicants INCLUDING International and OOS students. 2275 spots for the rest of 13650 applicants is ridiculous. That's 16.7% acceptance rate. This year should even more crazy with the recession. I had a friend last year with a 1390 M/CR (2100 overall) and was top 11% who did not get in to UT. Just ridiculous. </p>

<p>Andydandy, just keep working hard all the way up to your senior year.</p>

<p>gxgal - Did you mean to say the 70% who didn't make it?</p>