Texas a&m out of state tuition (Fixed vs Variable)?

I am an out of state student and was accepted to a&m college station this fall. I am currently trying to figure out what the total cost will be to attend and sign up for the new student conference but it is making me decide on either a fixed or variable tuition rate. Can someone give me more information on these two? The website was not very helpful…

Does the fixed tuition rate mean I would be stuck in it for four years? even if i transfer?

You are correct; the website is very poorly worded. The basic idea is that with the fixed, they “guess” at how much prices will increase over time, then divide up the total expected cost evenly. With variable, you start at a lower price, but it increases at an (unknown now) rate in the future. This article may help. And no, you won’t have to keep paying if you transfer. https://www.texastribune.org/2014/10/06/student-interest-fixed-rate-tuition-varies/

Out of curiosity, what do most people choose?

did y’all see the portal updated the tuition for Fall 2017? OOS tuition went up so much…
Instate tuition seems to have gone up only a few hundred $$?? I’m going with the variable rate for now since it’s so much less ($500/semester). and hope to get more outside scholarships in the next few years!!!

@gogogogobruins Realize that once you select variable or fixed you are committed to that for your entire time at A&M. You cannot change it next year. Make sure you take that into account when making your choice.

@TxSker thanks for your input. yes, i realize that. but we’re hoping to get more scholarship next year, so right now we are more concerned about out of pocket cost for this year :slight_smile:

@gogogogobruins