Texas A&M Scholarships/Decisions

I have recently been admitted to the College of Engineering at Texas A&M, and am wondering if and when I would be notified of any potential scholarships? I have a 34 ACT, took 6 AP classes, 5.06 GPA and was a National Merit Commended Student. My class rank is 6/198 although I don’t think my high school reported it. I am an out of state student as well.

I believe both my engineering students heard in March or April and even got some additional notifications in the summer.

What we have been told is that merit aid announcements are sent out late February and need-based aid packages sent in late March. All information to the students by early April giving students a month to decide for the May 1 deadline. I think National Merit scholarship notification is different, and the scholarship more substantial, but they are only awarded to NM Finalists. (Not sure about that information though.)

Did you apply for Engineering honors? The honors programs have some of their own scholarships. They trickle in like NETarrant mom said, since your application goes to every area that you meet the qualification for their scholarships. Each one decides their offers and has their own timeline.

Getting a $1000 competitive scholarship is an achievement here, in particular if you are OOS. It gives you instate tuition as well, so a 4 year $1000 scholarship is worth roughly $65,000. They do tend to recognize the combination of high scores & high rank. FWIW, really high FAFSA(we’re talking well over the OOS tuition bar) does count against you as does your OOS status when you compete- however, you can overcome - it just is more of a challenge. I was surprised to find out that need had a consideration in merit aid.