Texas Tech. From a transfer student perspective. (Ask me anything)

<p>Im an older student who transferred here from New Orleans last semester. I will give you my opinion of tech from the perspective of someone who from the opposite side of the tracks. </p>

<p>Lubbock sucks balls through a straw… but tech makes it easy to stay here. It's a predominately white school. But diversity is not hard to find at all. I love the campus. It's gorgeous. And the students are very friendly. I also find that the whole town of Lubbock is almost built around tech. I love how much the town is supportive of tech. I'm in Engineering School here and I find the program quite adequate. </p>

<p>Having said that, I have issues with the school also. It is overwhelmingly conservative and super fratty. All of the bars near campus are also fratty. And if you're a guy and not in a big frat… good luck finding a girl here. </p>

<p>As I mentioned before students are friendly here. But if you look closer, you can see that it's really superficial. It's amazing how fragile their "kindness" is. You will often spark up conversations or get pulled into conversations and it will lead to nothing. They are pretty much meaningless. On many occasions I've had very long conversations and have even been invited to random outings with people I've met at bars, clubs, etc… and afterwards it means nothing because they either forget who I am the next day and pretend it never happened. And I don't know where all these so-called wild parties happen. But I haven't seen a decent party here yet. The social scene could be better here, and as a minority I often find myself going to the depot for fun because of the more diverse crowd. </p>

<p>TL;DR Relationships mean nothing here</p>

<p>Summers here are nice. I can appreciate the dryer weather, especially coming from the coastal city. But winters here are down right brutal. And I'm not a fan of dust storms either, thankfully they don't happen too often. </p>