Theatre MFA but unrelated major and no experience

I’m currently an undergraduate student at a mediocre British university in the Middle East. I’m halfway through my degree and realized I made a big mistake and hate my university and major. It would be too costly to transfer, and I’m almost done anyway.

I took theatre and film in high school. In my city there were no opportunities to major in theatre, and film was not an option for me (Indian parents). I have my heart and mind set on applying to Tisch’s Design for Stage and Film because I realized that’s what I really want to do. Out of all the programs offered at the school, this one, which is at a graduate level appeals to me the most.

I have made my portfolio for the concentration I want to apply for, done a lot of research, read up on my design knowledge and think I have a chance with my portfolio.

But here’s the problem.

The theatre culture and opportunities to volunteer or intern are little to none. Almost non-existent. The only thing the drama club does at my uni is RARELY attend a show. I tried creating a club but nobody entered. The last time I did any theatre or film related anything was in high school. Also I majored in business.

Should I even bother applying? How much would my application be hindered from my lack of professional and non-professional experience?