Thinking of transferring from my CSU to a UC

Hey everyone, first time posting here. Currently, I’m a college freshman and was thinking of transferring out of my CSU. I feel like I’ve made a mistake coming here as I don’t enjoy it that much and feel like I could’ve just gone to a cc and tagged a UC. Is it worth it transferring out or should I try to stick to my current school? Currently, for my Fall semester I have 3.54 gpa and I have some extracurriculars and ap’s and jobs from high school to add to it. My dream transfers are currently UCLA, UCD, UCI, UCSD, UCSB and UCSC. I’m a CS major as well. I’m stuck in a rock and a hard place and I was wondering if I should apply as a transfer in Fall 2023. Thank you for reading.

CS is a highly marketable degree so attending a UC is not needed to be successful. What issues do you have with your current school? Can you name your current school and what do you think the UC’s can offer that the CSU cannot? Please get rid of the notion of a “dream school”. There is no such thing.

CSU to UC transfers have a lower priority than CC transfers. Also you need to articulate your CSU classes to the UC classes which can be difficult. For CC classes you can use assist.org for course articulation.

Think about it and best of luck with your decision.

1 Like

Here is the 2022 UC Transfer GPA by major and campus information for CC transfers. You can filter by major and campus to see the GPA admit rates and range needed to get into the UC’s.

You will need to complete the Transfer requirements for each school you plan to apply which can vary by campus also so make sure the CSU classes you have taken so far are UC transferable.

UCs give preference to CC transfers so you’d have a better chance if you went to a CC next year. Also you’d be able to qualify for a TAG guarantee except at Davis which requires attending a CC spring semester.