Tips from a current UA student

Hey y’all! I am currently a sophomore at the University of Alabama, and I wanted to give prospective students and parents some advice that I have learned during my time so far at UA! A little background info on me; I am an out of state student from Massachusetts, a Public Relations major with a minor in Sociology, and a member of a Panhellenic sorority. I LOVE Alabama and I hope that y’all choose this amazing school too!

1. Meet with your advisor and really get to know them. I was originally a biology major, but the coursework was very challenging, so before I switched to Public Relations, I met with one of the PR advisors for more information and she was so helpful in helping me make my decision. She is still my advisor and I meet with her a few times each semester to make sure I am on track with the courses I am taking so I can graduate in 4 years. Because Alabama is a large school, it can sometimes be hard to get into certain sections of some gen ed's or upper level courses for your major, so its really helpful to have a close relationship with your advisor so they can help get you into the classes that you need.