to everyone who goes to UW...

<p>do you like it? i cant decide if i want to go!!! tell me what you like or dont like about it please. thanks mucho!</p>

<p>I'm a graduate student at UW, so I'll try to give you the impression I have about Madison. Pros: great research opportunity, decent living expenses, lots to do, great school spirit. Cons: wind, wind, wind, I'm getting sick of the wind making it 10-20 degrees colder outside than it should be. Overall, I'm glad I chose UW for my PhD, but do miss some things I got used to in Chapel Hill (where I got my MS degree; i.e. good Mexican food).</p>

<p>However, I've heard great things about parties (if that's your kind of thing), but there is so much to do outside of the party scene too (such as art, the zoo, cultural events, etc.). Too bad I don't have time to experience it all!</p>

<p>wind isnt that big of an issue, it sucks but everyone has it...for being in the middle of nowhere we get a lot of it here.</p>

<p>i really think i should give it a try, i posted my experience in the transfer forum, and honestly if me going there doesnt work out, i can just transfer back to this school, you know?</p>

<p>im really looking for the overall experience</p>

<p>i wish i knew how much of a difference it makes to employers or grad schools on WHERE you got your degree. is it a HUGE difference, me getting my degree at UW compared to my current school, WIU?</p>

<p>tsiguy96:</p>

<p>It all really depends on what you want to do after graduation. WIU likely has a lot more name recognition in the region, but if you want to go straight to work, in say, LA, you may have to jump through some hoops. After you get your first job, and work it for awhile, where you actually got your degree means less and less. </p>