Top Journalism schools on the East Coast

<p>Hey everyone,
I'm a junior in high school. I'm from Connecticut and don't want to go too far from home. I'm interested in journalism, specifically magazine journalism and am looking for a good program on the east coast, preferably Northeast. I've done a lot of research and found that the best j-schools seem to be at: Northwestern, Mizzou, Syracuse, Ohio University, Indiana, UNC Chapel Hill. The problem is, I'm not sure if I'm willing to go to the midwest for school (which seems to be where most of the top schools are). Any suggestions are welcome!
Also, I was wondering if you guys think it's necessary to major in journalism for a career in the magazine industry. A lot of schools that I'm interested (eg. BC, Villanova, Bucknell, Lafayette) don't offer journalism as a major. Would I be at a disadvantage if I majored in english or history instead of journalism?</p>

<p>It’s not quite Northeast, but Maryland has a top journalism school. I’m from NY, it’s about a 4-5 hour drive for me. Not bad. Penn State also has a good one. I too was looking for top j-schools not too far, I didn’t really find many in the immediate Northeast. I was looking at Northeastern in Boston for a while and really liked the school but they didn’t have a top j-school compared to MD so I decided against it (among a few other reasons).</p>

<p>Forget OU.
UNC, Syracuse, NYU, Maryland…</p>

<p>You could go to a LAC and major in English. Everything depends on your long term goals.</p>

<p>Forget OU.
UNC, Syracuse, NYU, Maryland…</p>

<p>You could go to a LAC and major in English. Everything depends on your long term goals.</p>

<p>Also, Emerson College in Boston.</p>

<p>How is the j program at BU?</p>

<p>It’s good. Not the best, but it’s respected.</p>