Transfer chances

<p>Alright, I'm currently a freshman at JMU, and the school isn't the ideal place for me. I was wondering what my chances are as a transfer to VT for my sophmore year. I was put on their waitlist during my senior year in HS, so I went to JMU as a backup.</p>

<p>HS STATS
GPA:3.2 unweighted
SAT: 1810 out of 2400, 1260 out of 1600</p>

<p>1st semester at JMU:
major: Biological sciences (might change to biochem if i get into VT)
GPA: 3.364
BIO 114(organisms): B+
Chem 131 lecture: A
Chem 131 lab: B
GENG 235: B
GISAT 160: B+</p>

<p>2nd semester schedule:
GCOM 123
GWRIT 103
BIO 124
MATH 220 (statistics)
chem 132 lecture
chem 132 lab</p>

<p>I realize I might lose some credits transferring into tech. But, if your going to spend money for school, you should be happy right? I know my GPA from my first semester in college is low, but do you guys think I have a legitimate shot?</p>

<p>Bump, 51 views and no answers? Nobody?</p>

<p>I would say you're looking good, but the reason nobody is answering is that it's hard to judge transfers. We're not sure what they're looking for. Good luck!</p>

<p>Do you know the average GPA for transfers into tech? Or in what ballpark should my GPA be in?</p>

<p>Depends upon the reasons for wanting to transfer to Virginia Tech. Did many students drop out after the shootings? Did applications to Virginia Tech drop?</p>

<p>No to your 2 questions. In fact they have been over enrolled in the past 2 years.</p>

<p>Well this is making needlessly nervous. So....does anybody want to read my transfer essay to see if its good enough? Or do I have to get help in the transfer section?</p>

<p>Hey I might be a little late but I'm actually in the same situation. I'm a freshman at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH. I'm originally from Northern Virginia and I applied to Virginia Tech, but was wait-listed and then deferred. I'm trying to transfer as well, but I'm also applying to UVA.</p>

<p>HS GPA : 3.23
College GPA : 3.24