Transferring from Michigan

<p>I am currently a sophomore at the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor. After realizing that programs at UW would better suit my educational goals, I am considering transferring.
Obviously, there are a lot of factors involved with this decisions. I'm hoping I can find some solid information here.
What is it like to transfer as a junior to UW? I know some people there, but would mostly have to make new friends.
What are classes like at UW? How accessible are professors and TAs? How good are undergraduate resources and opportunities (such as availability of lab jobs and independent lab research)?
I am looking into the Wildlife Ecology major, the Biological Aspects of Conservation major, or the Zoology major. Any information on any of these majors would be extremely helpful.
How do gen eds work at UW? Would any of the classes I took as gen eds at Michigan fulfill gen ed requirements at UW?
What is it like to be a student at UW? I'm assuming it is pretty similar to Michigan because both are big ten schools with good academics and research. I saw in a different post on here that UW students tend to be friendly and less competitive than Michigan. I like going to Michigan, but I don't like how competitive everyone is here.
Is it easy to make friends in classes at UW? How do most people make friends? (I wouldn't be living in a dorm, so that wouldn't be an option.)
Is it easy to learn your way around campus and adjust to being there? One of the cons of transferring would be having to figure out where everything is and how the system works (i.e. which professors/classes are good, which ones to avoid, etc.).
Finally, how much is housing around the campus? </p>

<p>Any information related to any of the above, or overall experiences at UW, would be very, very greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!</p>

<p>Also, how hard would it be to double major in Wildlife Ecology and a school from L&S (either Zoology or Biological Aspects of Conservation)?