Transferring to UCs from CPP

I am currently a freshman at Cal Poly Pomona studying computer engineering, and I am planning to apply as a transfer student to some UC schools in my junior year, specifically USCD, UCLA, UCI, and UCB. I know its not common for students to transfer from one university to another, as most transfer students come from community college. I have already taken some core classes relating to my major, but I’m not sure if the credits will be be accepted by these UC schools.

What is the best way to set up an appointment to talk with the counselors at these schools, and what are the chances for a student like me to transfer?

I am just looking for some advice or maybe some stories from people who transferred to a UC school from another university.

You should contact each UC campus and meet with a transfer advisor if possible.

Below are some tips posted by a CSU to UC transfer student that was successful.

Tips for CSU to UC transfers:

1. Get informed and and make a plan.

Use assist and college confidential to get informed and go out to look for any answers you might have. From ASSIST you will get all the information you need for the prerequisites you need for your major. Look up the major prereqs for every school you are interested in transferring to. When you know all the information for which classes to take, make a plan. Plan out which classes you need to take each semester before you transfer and how you will reach those mandatory 60 semester units needed to transfer to a UC. This is probably the most important part of transferring. The faster you have a plan the faster you get to transfer and you will have a easier and clearer path. And look through all the threads on the website and get a sense of what you need to do and what it takes to get a UC.

1. Don't lose sight of the goal!