Transferring to VTech

Hello, I am currently a freshman in college and I hate the school I am at and I am considering transferring. I was curious if people could share their transfer experiences (why you transferred, adjusting to the new school, meeting people) especially second year transfers who transferred to Virginia Tech. I have heard bad stories about transferring and I am wondering if it would be worth it. Thank you!

I transferred in to tech after my freshman year from VCU many years ago… so my information may be a little dated. I didn’t get into Tech out of high school and knew I wanted to go there, so I made it happen. I went in knowing I would try to transfer, so I tailored all of my classes freshman year to mirror what freshmen would take at Tech. One negative part about my experience was that I needed to pick a major before I was ready just to transfer, so I started in a major I didn’t like and that was a bit difficult since I was already a little bit behind.

Again, this information is dated, but the classes I took at VCU were so easy compared to Tech. I was not fully prepared to make the transition academically, as I went from a very difficult high school curriculum to being able to succeed really easily at VCU.

I knew a lot of people from high school who already went to Tech, so for me getting used to Tech socially wasn’t too bad. I also visited during my freshman year, so I met other people that I would later hang out or see at parties once I was actually a student. If you don’t already have connections, the transition might be more difficult. It really depends on what you’re like though - I personally wouldn’t have made friends through living in the dorms anyway, so I didn’t feel like I missed out too much by not living on campus.