UA Early College

I am very interested in doing UA early college but know little about it. If anyone knows about it and would like to help answer some of my questions that would be great.
-What advantages would I get with the early college?
-Would it help gain admissions into UA?
-Would it be full oos price or is early college tuitions discounted?

• If I decide to attend another school are the credits easily transferable?
  • I read on the UA website that there is partial scholarships. Would that be for UA undergrad and how does that work?

Any information would be great. I’m pretty sure it’s too late to take classes at UA this summer so I was thinking of taking classes online. Thanks.

Hey there,

My DS has been in UA Early College since last fall, and I wish we’d discovered it earlier. I’m not an expert, but I’ll share what I know.

• you earn actual college credit. This may shorten your time in college, depending on what you take and how many courses, but maybe just as important, it will give you experience with college curriculum. Yes, you can also get that with AP coursework in high school, or community college, but with EC you benefit from being (at least tangetially) part of a university environment.
  • required for admission into EC is the course UAEC 200, which is quite simply a course on how to be a college student. It’s 2 credits, but was very valuable for my son to recognize the skills he’ll need in college (that haven’t been that necessary in high school).

Yes, though I can’t say that there is more than you’d get taking any other college-level coursework. The help would be having college credit (and grades for those credits) on your application, demonstrating college readiness and academic performance. I don’t honestly know if UA Admissions would give any preference to EC students over students with college credit earned elsewhere. My son also had credit from the U of Minnesota on his transcript, so I can’t say.