UC Computer science chance

Which UC computer science department would my son have a chance with following:
GPA: 4.15
SAT: 760 Math, 640 English
Math 2 SAT: 750

Just before I say anything… I’m just a sophomore girl in high school that’s enrolled in college admission schools and read quite a lot of CC posts.

I would need to have more information. Is he at a very competitive school? Is he an athlete? Does he have leadership positions? Is he disadvantaged in any way?

If he is a middle class, heterosexual, nonathletic dude with no extracurriculars in computer science or leadership positions… at a decent high school… I would actually recommend CSUs… computer science is too competitive to get into at a UC.

Now, if he has any leadership position or an EC relating to computer science… 75% chance at UC Davis or UC Irvine.

If he has a leadership position in an EC relating to computer science or a minor award in the field… 85% chance at UCSB…

But if he is disadvantaged… he does have a fair shot at UCLA or or UCB.

CS is probably one of the most competitive majors at the UC’s. The UC’s have their own way of calculating the UC GPA, so you need to know the unweighted UC GPA, Capped weighted UC GPA and Fully Weighted UC GPA.

His SAT scores are within range for several of the UC’s, but stats alone will not get an applicant accepted nor rejected. The UC’s also consider EC’s and personal insight essays in their application review. UC’s tend to be very GPA focused and HS course rigor can be a big consideration. Any AP’s, IB, UC approved Honors or DE courses and how many? Any CS related EC’s, volunteering, community service or leadership roles?

For UCLA, here were the admit rate information for 2018 CS majors: The admit rate for CS for the fall of 2018 is 8.2%. The average CS act score is a 35 and the SAT is a 1550 average.