UC Merced Vs UCR

<p>I don’t know which one to choose, can any one help me. My major is Computer Science AND Engineering, and it is only offered at UC Merced, UCR only offers Computer Science OR Computer Engineering (i prefer to be in CS and Eng). But UC Merced is a really small school, and i think it might be like doing high school all over again(because so few people attend and isn’t it surrounded by farms and cows, and there really isn’t that big of a college town, it more rural), but then again UC Merced could become one of the great UC’s in 15 years. And how good is UC Merced in Computer Science And engineering, (They are not accredited yet either though). And does UCR have a good computer science department, whose is better? So my main question is should i choose UCR or UC Merced (considering my major for both). Thanks</p>

<p>I think Uc merced is the better choice. Its a brand new campus, and it actually looks like its gonna have a good sized freshman class this year. UCR is in a terrible enviroment. Extremely smoggy.</p>

<p>Is the smog the only reason you're recommending that Arian doesn't go to UCR? If so, then I would avoid most regions in southern California.</p>

<p>i live in southern California (orange county) anyway</p>

<p>Oh.. come on. Enough with speculation. My friend went down there a couple weeks ago and the smog did not bother her at all. She was very pleased with the school and thought it looked very nice. </p>

<p>BTW, we live in San Diego. I do not think the smog at UCR should be the 'end all' reason to not go to there.</p>

<p>UCM- Lots of professor attention. Get a private school education, with the cost of a public. New buildings, the dorms are awsome. Not far from the bay area. Near skiing, in a retro Cali town, similar to San Luis Obispo. Close to Yosemite. The UC system is trying to make it top tier.</p>