UC Santa Cruz vs Chico State Honors Program

Hi! I would like help with deciding between UC Santa Cruz and Chico State Honors Program. There are more pros for Chico State, especially price. My EFC = no financial aid. I am studying biology. I was waitlisted at SDSU and UCI, denied at Cal Poly SLO and UC Davis. Also, accepted to Washington State but not wanting to attend.
I have visited UC Santa Cruz but unable to check out Chico, other than virtual tours.
I worry that Chico State may not have a good reputation and don’t know much about the biology program. Thank you!

What is your career goal with a Biology major? What is the cost of attendance for you at both schools? Are finances an issue where you need loans beyond the federal student loan limit of $27K for 4 years? Are your parents willing to help with costs?

What are the benefits of the Honors program at Chico State for you?

My career goal is possibly in the medical but I don’t know yet. The cost of Chico State is $25,000/yr and UC Santa Cruz is $38,000/yr. I’m not sure about the federal loans but my parents will help for some of the cost of college - paying for more if I go to Chico and I will have to get a loans if I attend UCSC because it’s so expensive.
The benefits of the Chico State would be close friends also attending, smaller class size, and playing on club water polo team. Those are all about the experience of college, but is a UC education better?
Thanks again!

I had one son attend a UC and another attend a CSU. Both got great educations for their majors of interest and I would say that one was not better than the other. It is more about what you do with the opportunities you are given vs. the name on the Diploma.

Overall it sounds that Chico meets all your criteria and many times being a Big Fish in a Small Pond can be an advantage especially if you are looking into the Medical field as a possible career choice.