UCI (CS) vs UCB (undelcared)

I’m so stressed and I don’t know what to do. I was admitted to UCI for computer science and I love the idea of simply being in the major without having to apply to get in. However, I was admitted to UCB as undeclared the other day. If I were to go to Berkeley I could still study computer science but I would have to transfer in which could be competitive.

I loved the UCI campus and everything So Cal has to offer and I know for a fact I would probably enjoy the area a bit more than Berkeley. However, the prestige of UCB makes me want to go there but I know I would be stressed out of my mind trying to gain acceptance into the computer science major. I have little computer science experience as my high school is extremely small so I feel that I would be behind a lot of the other students competing to get into the CS major.

Obviously UCB has a bigger reputation compared to UCI which would makes internships easier to get most likely, but is that worth it? Is UCI respected by employers for CS and are internships attainable if I go there? And is possibly sacrificing my happiness worth it for attending a prestigious school? These are just some of the questions I have.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

in a really weird way, you’re almost better off not knowing that much about programming if you are in CS at Berkeley. Firstly, there are beginner classes such as CS 10 that you can take to get started. You can also catch up a bit by taking a programming class at a CC over the summer before you start.