UCI vs. UC Davis?

Hi everyone,

I am currently an incoming first year student committed to UC Davis. My dream schools were UCLA and UC Irvine. I was rejected from UCLA and waitlisted by UCI, so I decided to commit to UC Davis. My major is currently undeclared.

For a while I was convincing myself I would be happy at UC Davis and I guess I convinced myself really well because I just got admitted to UCI off an appeal and I’m feeling conflicted! Of course when I got the news I was overjoyed to the point of tears, but I do have a tendency to overthink. Of course I’m leaning towards UCI, one of my dream schools, but a voice at the back of my head is telling me I should think about this some more since I’ve been getting attached to UC Davis for the past five months. For the record, I’m considering deferring until next year due to COVID-19.

If any of you attend UCI or UC Davis, please let me know what you consider the pros and cons of your school. What is the campus life like and how are you enjoying your studies? I would appreciate any feedback/advice! Thanks.

More explanation:

When I toured UCI I thought the campus was pretty, nice, and organized! I liked the big buildings that were all centered around the beautiful Aldrich Park. As someone from NorCal I was very interested in going to SoCal for a change of scenery. There seems to be a lot of interesting things around the area like Newport Beach, LA, and Disneyland. It seems that Greek life there is better.To be honest, if I got into UC Irvine initially I would have committed and never even considered Davis.