UCLA vs U Mich for premed

i was accepted to both ucla and umich (i’m an oos student but cost is not an issue in this decision as it’s the same at both school). i’m planning on taking the premed track, so i wanted some opinions on whether to take ucla or umich. both are fairly large public schools so i know that premed is going to be tough no matter which school i pick, but i’ve particularly heard about ucla being notoriously competitive (with regards to bell curve grading and the weed-out intro classes). ucla is the better option in terms of proximity to family, weather, etc but i’m wondering if all of that’s worth it if premed is going to be so difficult.

would appreciate any opinions on this decision!

Both send lots of kids to medical school so when I read about grade deflation, I wonder - because perhaps the med schools know.

What will you major in? Which school overall seems better for you.

You clearly like UCLA and Pre-med is going to be difficult at…name any college.

You might contact the advisor to find out about shadowing opportunities or other things - and some schools have special programs within their advising - for example, Alabama has the McCullough Medical Scholars. Not sure if either UCLA or Michigan will have a program like that or perhaps a pre-med LLC, etc. that might tip the scales for you toward one vs. another.

Good luck.