UCSC to CC to SFSU?

Hi I’m currently a student at UCSC but I feel like I want to go back to community college then transfer to SFSU. I already have around 60 semester (90 quarter) credits and there isn’t much room to get my GPA up. Right now it’s between 2.7-2.9. I am applying to an unimpacted campus for an unimpacted major, and I am local from Alameda county.

I heard that as long as you pass the 2.0 GPA threshold and meet all course requirements for a non impacted major and school you automatically get in as a transfer? Can anyone confirm this? It’s not a major I can AAT for.

You can transfer to SFSU directly from UCSC, if you are eligible according to

SFSU’s local area for admissions is the State of California according to

1 Like

why do you want to leave UCSC and what about SF is going to be different?

1. UCs especially UCSC is just a lot more research orientated, and I feel like going to a CSU for a business admin in marketing would be more practical and teach me actual skills. I would change my major from environmental science.

2. UCSC does have an econ and a business management econ degree, but it’s an econ degree, not a business one. Also I’m right at the expiration date to officially declare a major, plus I can’t meet the GPA requirement to declare either majors in the first place.

3. Housing is almost impossible to find unless I somehow find a place and commute from San Jose or Monterey. SF is probably just as expensive, but at least I have options. Options for easily accessible internships, work, food, and so on. And even if I don’t find a tiny room in SF, I can definitely commute from home.

4. Don’t think it’s worth paying close to 30k a year at UCSC specifically for my major and what I want to do.

1 Like

All valid reasons to transfer so Best of luck.