UCSD (Undeclared, Warren) vs UCR (Computer Science)

So I’m stuck between choosing UCSD and UCR. I’ve heard that it’s a lot of hard work to transfer into the CSE program for UCSD, but so many people are telling me to go regardless because it’s generally a better school than UCR. I do have a little bit of hope that I would be able to transfer in because I have some experience in programming, but I don’t know if I would be able to handle the stress and anxiety of not getting in. Even more so now that those who apply and get in are randomly selected from those who have a 3.3+ GPA.
On the other hand, others are telling me to play it safe and go to UCR. I’ve also been invited to their University Honors Program and if I do get in, I would probably lean towards UCR. But while I know I would have an ease of mind there, I don’t really like the area and it’s considered one of the lower UCs.
What do you guys think? Is a better platform more important than the major? Should I risk it and go to UCSD? Or play it safe and go to UCR?