UIUC BioEng vs Case Western BioMed Eng vs Northeastern BioMed Eng

Hello all! newbie here and did not find this topic in my quick search in this group. looking for your valuable insights comparing these colleges+courses
UIUC Bioengineering vs Case Western Biomedical Engineering vs Northeastern Biomedical Engineering

All three are great options! Are they all affordable? Do you have a location preference?

Northeastern has the co-op component. How do you feel about that for your intended career path?

1 Like

thank you for your reply! actually it’s for my daughter and I’m still learning the process and all the terminologies (I had to look up co-op) :sweat_smile:. all 3 are going to be out of state and do not yet know the full cost of attendance for NU and CWRU.

My S23 has admit from CWRU Bio-Med (grad major rank #18) with decent scholarship. He somehow applied to Biochemistry in UIUC (grad major rank #11) and got it even though I recommended BME (grad rank #22).

Assuming your cost spread is same across these choices,

• CWRU will give you great Academic Life (Flex majors, class sizes, courses you need, research/coops, teacher/TA support systems)
  • UIUC will give you better Student Life (sports, large schools, clubs etc) but academic life will have big school issues unless they are in Honors College.

We intend to visit CaseWestern in Apr to decide as we have in-state UC Irvine (BioMed) & UMDCP (BioMed) admits as well.

1 Like

What is your daughter’s intended career path? Is she using BME with pre-med intentions or looking to go into engineering? If she’s leaning towards pre-med, I think CWRU needs a really close look. There are a number of major medical centers, including the Cleveland Clinic, very close to campus, but also MetroHealth, University Hospital and the VA. Lots of opportunities for volunteering, shadowing, etc…