UM or UF?

<p>i have not heard from my top school yet, but if it boils down between these two schools i'm not sure which to pick. i live in miami already and my goal was to get out of miami as well as florida but if that doesn't work out then i have to choose between UM and UF. i would go to UF basically for free because i got 100% bright futures, however although i do love college towns gainsville just does not appeal to me at all. i have never visited UF so i don't know exactly what it looks or feels like but it just doesn't seem like something i may like. </p>

<p>UM was pretty generous with their money. they offered me just about $30,000 including scholarship, work-study, and $5000 in loans. so basically i'd have to get another loan for the last $10,000 or so. also, i'm majoring in communications studies (which UF doesn't have, i had to put public relations) and it just seems like the city of miami as well as UM may just be better for that type of major but i'm not entirely sure. </p>

<p>sorry to make this post so long, but i just wanted to know if anyone had any opinions. thanksss</p>

<p>i was basically in your boat. university scholarship to UM or full bright futures at UF. Chose UM. Miami beats Gainesville, you get a private school education for not much more than a public school, and it has the major you want.
the main issue for me was whether i wanted to stay this close to home or gain independence. my parents agreed to let me live on campus, so everyone won.</p>

<p>lol see the thing about going to UM is I would still be living at home. but I would also get to keep my car haha. idk though. do you think its better to live on campus at UM or no?</p>

<p>it depends on ur relationship with ur parents. ur home will always be more comfortable.</p>

<p>Bitesize: Several things....</p>

<p>1) You must go visit UF to make an informed decision. Many students love it there. It is a large school but has the benefits of such.