UM Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science...

<p>Hello! I've been seriously considering UM {I live in Central Florida, west coast}, and have so far read most of the posts in this forum. One thing that hasn't been elaborated on, however, is the Marine Science program...Is anyone currently enrolled, or has a friend/relative who is? I would love any kind of feedback on the program that you have to offer.</p>

<p>Thank you! =}</p>

<p>I cannot help you too much but I do know that marine science at UM is supposedly really good. I guess due to the location, UM is a great place to study marine science. </p>

<p>Yeah, I know I’m no help, but others will elaborate haha.</p>

<p>I am a freshman- although I’m technically “undecided”- I’m on the marine science track, sorta.</p>

<p>I took Marine Science first semester and for the most basic intro class, the labs are really pretty interesting. Class is 2 or 3 times a week and one 3 hour lab a week that you go to the RSMAS campus via the free shuttle (15 min ride). We went to the Miami SeaQuarium and observed manatees/dolphins one day. Another lab we handled sea slugs, one lab we looked at small sea communities on rocks and saw sea spiders and sea worms. The class also took a snorkeling field trip. The class lectures were really basic and a bit boring but it was an intro class.</p>

<p>Since there are only about 60-80 freshmen each year enrolled in RSMAS, the profs know a lot of the kids and all the students are fairly close with each other. A bunch are in RHO (Marine sci honor society) or the scuba club. Also the professors are really qualified in their fields and Intro to Mar Sci had 3 really nice professors co-teach. </p>