UMich Financial Aid

I tried the UMich Net Price Calculator just now, and I was surprised to see that I had to pay about $75,000.
I checked and it seemed like it did not reflect the amount of financial aid award I would get.
Does anyone else have this problem??

Also, are they known to give pretty decent financial aid package to OOS students?

U Michigan does not meet full need for OOS students, IME their FA packages can be mixed for OOSers. Does the $75K NPC match NPCs at other schools?

When running NPCs make sure to input accurate numbers, including adding back any 401K contributions your parents are making (an example of a factor people often forget when running NPCs). NPCs may not be accurate if your parents are divorced, own a business, or own real estate beyond a primary home.

Got it. Thanks!

I am not a financial pro but don’t pay more then the COA…

Depending on your financial situation many get $20-30,000/year OOS. Again, everyone’s situation is different.

Wait so 20000-30000 as an award?? or like is that the estimated price

Your missing the point. There is no award. This is financial aid based on financial need. You won’t read a lot about it here since the families on CC tend to have a better financial base but of course we all want money for our kids to go to college. But there have actually been some in recent years on here as well. This is not merit but financial aid.

Yikes! Are you sure that was UMich NPC? Direct costs would be at most $64-66k a year (not saying it’s cheap), - that is tuition, fees, and room/board -
Maybe you were looking at USC’s NPC :slight_smile:

1 Like