university honors (plus bonus questions)

<p>i got an invitation to join university honors. i'm just wondering how hard it is to get in, because i was just looking into it on the website and i'm liking what i see (especially looking at the study abroad opportunities and getting very excited).</p>

<p>i got the invitation letter the same time i got my letter of acceptance and i had not even considered trying for honors previously. the thing is, i don't know how common these invitations are, as i'm a transfer, and for transfer students to be let into honors, they require a 3.60 gpa, which is exactly what i have at the moment (pretty sure i'll get all As this semester though).</p>

<p>does anyone have any experience with UH admissions, or perhaps know a little something about how selective the admissions are? i'd really appreciate any kind of information (yes, i've already looked at the website, i'm talking first hand information :-D)</p>

<p>and as a side note, i'm a florida resident who also got into UF. i had been heavily leaning towards UF because of all the money i'd save. i do have an EFC of 0 though, and when i did the financial package estimator, i was projected to have a refund of about $1300. what i'm getting at is, would getting admitted to honors maybe get me more aid from VT or something? because i think if i got into honors, that would push me over the fence to VT.</p>

<p>one last thing... with all of this talk of in state school and less expensive vs better out of state school but more expensive, i never see any mention of just going to the out of state school, living in that state for a year, and getting residency of that state, and then getting in state tuition. why is that never suggested? to me it just seems like a no brainer... which suggests there might be something i don't know about the residency situation.
but in any case, thanks for reading my post and i REALLY appreciate any info you have for me!</p>