USC Viterbi, UW Engineering (honors) vs University of British Columbia ApSci. Which school is best for ECE & Renewable Energy?

Hi, I’m an international student and unfortunately did not get any financial aid/scholarships from any of the universities mentioned. So, I will be paying the full sticker price as mentioned. Fortunately, as I am the first person in my family to be accepted in an institution abroad, my relatives are willing to sponsor me.

Personally, I love the school culture at UBC most, it’s quirky, it has great clubs and its design teams are very interesting (and related to sustainability). Though, a lot of people have warned me against going to Canada as an engineer (apparently the job market is relatively slower than the states). USC and UW are close seconds. Academically, I’ve heard that all the schools are comparable.

About immigration: Ideally, I would not like to return to my country after graduating. I realize that the US and Canada are very different in these matters but I am not thinking about that too much. As, in the states, I get the 3 year OPT VISA after which I can apply to grad school. While in Canada, PR is always an option.

On tuition: UBC and UW are in a similar range (both very affordable for my family). While, USC is much much higher (i will be paying full COA). USC is affordable too but then my family will have no more money to spare for grad school or other aid later.

So here are the main questions:

1. Should I choose to go to the US or Canada for my respective schools?
  2. If the US(even if not), where do you think I will have the best chances to get well paid jobs/good grad school programs after graduating as an ECE major? Is the tuition at USC worth it? Will I be losing out on the prestige of a high ranked school if I don’t choose USC?
  3. In the US engineering market, do USC and UW have the same prestige for undergraduate engineering programs? Does the ranking difference matter?