UW Madison Deferred

I just found out last night that I was deferred from UW Madison. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how I can improve my chances of getting in/standing out. At school I am involved in NHS, Gender Equality Club, Math Honor Society, and Social Studies Honor Society. Outside of school I am involved in dance, volunteer on a weekly basis, and I am also a dance teacher. For my application, I sent in four letters of rec. On my ACT I received a 23 (I am not a good test taker). I have an unweighted GPA of 3.65 and weighted GPA of 3.8. Throughout high school I have been enrolled in several AP/IB courses (AP calc, AP stats, AP psych, IB English, IB Theatre, IB TOK). UW Madison is one of my top choices and I would love to get in. It is so hard seeing everyone get accepted and still having to a wait for a decision yet. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it!

Be sure to report your 1st semester senior grades. Also, contact your admissions counselor to express your interest personally - if it’s your #1 and you will attend if admitted, be sure they know that.

Are you in-state or out?

@JBStillFlying I am in-state!

Yeah I think your best bet is to get working with your counselor and UW-Madison admissions person. It’s a really competitive school. I’m OOS so not sure what’s in store for me yet. Good luck!

@Seacoast Thank you! It is very nerve-wrecking! I feel so impatient, especially since I have to wait until March. Best of luck to you! According to UW Madison’s twitter, an admission decision should be on its way within a few days!

Consider retaking the ACT in February.

I was also deferred, would someone let me know my chances of being admitted later?
OOS MN
ACT 29
GPA 3.9 uw