UW-Madison vs.University of Michigan

Hey guys,

I was recently accepted to both universities, and would want to know thoughts or opinions. I am applying to medical school afterwards. I am majoring in psychology, but I’m thinking of changing majors , neurobiology or neuroscience. I am first generation in my family and this process is very difficult. I want to make the best decision possible. Also, money isn’t really a factor. But I will apply to top medical schools, and I’m not sure if a cheap tuition will be better now because medical school will be many years considering I am an aspiring neurosurgeon. I am OOS, and well any help or advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Both are excellent schools! Everyone I talk to loves Wisconsin and Michigan (unlike some other large state universities). Have you visited both campuses? That might help you make your decision. But both schools are amazing, and you’ll be very well off wherever you go.

Ditto the above. Look at how things work for changing majors at each school. UW admits students to the university as a whole, regardless of intended major. Easy to switch. You need to check with Michigan on their policies.

You need to visit each of the two campuses. With Lake Michigan separating the states there is not much flow between them, ie you likely will not find many people who know both schools. If flying into the Midwest consider Detroit for Ann Arbor and then either Milwaukee or Chicago- renting a car (by parent) to get to the college towns.

For medical school admissions both will work. You can check on the departments of interest to you for possible majors. Courses required, offered et al. Also check on the Honors Programs- UW’s is excellent and offers good STEM sequences.