Very Conflicted About The Decision to Transfer

Hi,

I am a current sophomore at a large university about 3 hours from home. I did classes from home all of last year due to COVID, and this is my first time on campus. It has needed some getting used to, but I have found my routine and don’t hate it here. The campus is absolutely beautiful and my classes are tough but interesting. I am privileged enough to have my car on campus, so I have been going home on weekends, but will definitely stay up here for at least 3-4 weekends before I make my decision. My favorite parts of school so far have been walking home from the gym at 12am every night on an empty, peaceful campus and getting done my last Friday class and driving home. I have gotten involved with some clubs, have been able to get to the gym almost every night, and the large size isn’t as big of a problem to me as I thought it was. Still, I have this feeling I should transfer. If I was a freshman, I would for sure give it at least a year (2 semesters) before considering this. But as a sophomore, I feel as if I don’t have a whole lot of time left, and don’t know if I can wait until my junior year to make the move. A very attractive destination for me is a university closer to my hometown which is smaller, and I would have any opportunity to live with some of my closest friends who I stayed home with last year. I value my time with my family over anything else, and it would just be nice to be closer to them and to be able to drive 20 minutes to be home, not just on weekends. I just don’t know what to do and feel trapped and would really appreciate any advice.

Thank You!

Time left for what? You are 19 or 20. You have plenty of time.