Virginia Tech or PSU

I have been accepted into PSU and VT for engineering program (Fall 2015). I am planning to major in Mechanical Engineering. I’m confused as to which university should I go to. I have also applied to Purdue and I am still waiting for their decision. As I am an International Student the OOS won’t bother me. I have heard that PSU is more of a party campus but it has a huge alumni base. But Virginia Tech on the other hand is ranked comparatively high in the engineering program. But I don’t want to attend the hardcore engineering colleges. Instead I want to enjoy my college life doing various activities and also study. Any advice will be helpful :slight_smile:

P.S. : If anyone knows about about the internship and future job opportunities at PSU, VT and Purdue (as in which college offers the best opportunities) feel free to comment.

For $10,000 less a year VT is the best bet. Just as good or better than PSU and a lot cheaper. I am a PSU alumni by the way and will advise that the three schools you mention all have comparable engineering programs. All are in college towns although I give State College the thumbs up over Blacksburg. VT has one of the best student experiences overall with reasonable food, campus life and sports balanced with academics. Putting all else aside I would go with the cheapest of the three.

In the offer mail i received from VT and from PSU, PSU is costlier than VT by $2000. And that cost wont matter if I get a better college experience. So should i still go with PSU? @daveverdo‌

$2000 difference makes it a tossup. For my daughter VT was $13,000 less per year. Purdue and VT were about $1000 difference. If you an International you don’t have the luxury of visiting the campus to get the feel of where you fit. Look at other things they have to offer not just from the ads they send but go look at the course list if possible.