Visiting UA for the first time

<p>I’m sure this topic has been discussed a thousand times but I am new to the UA thread so hopefully you won’t mind helping me out again. My son was accepted to UA and we are finally planning a trip down to see the campus. We are from NJ and have never been to Alabama so we aren’t familiar at all with the area. I know we have to fly into Birmingham and from what I understand it is about an hour drive to campus. There really aren’t any direct flights from North NJ so we are probably flying in on a Thursday evening and getting up early to head over to campus. I guess my question is - if we get to the campus by about 10:00am do we have enough time to really see the whole campus and the surrounding area of Tuscaloosa in a few hours? We would have to fly back out later that night but really want to see everything we should/need to see. Is there anything that we should absolutely include in our visit? I really want him to get a sense of what it is like living there because he will be very far from home. Thanks in advance for any input-</p>

<p>Susan</p>

<p>Welcome, Susan. Could you share a little info about your son and his interests? Any ideas for a major? Is he likely to be in Honors? What are his interests? That will help in making suggestions that will best relate and help you spend your limited time wisely if you could share some thoughts. Will you be staying in Birmingham or are you looking to stay in Tuscaloosa? Do you have an idea of when you may be coming? (I’m asking because of the upcoming A Day game because hotels will be at a premium.)</p>