VT Humanities?

<p>Hello there,</p>

<p>I'm a Sophomore in high school who has started the college search. I am about 85% sure that I want to pursue a degree in the liberal arts, preferably something in the Humanities (English, philosophy,etc.). A few weeks ago I visited and toured Virginia Tech and was very impressed with what I saw. The campus was beautiful, the size was right, and it was easy for me to picture myself as a student there. Despite these qualities, the academic side of college is even more important to me than how it feels. Although I am quite familiar with Tech's excellent reputation in fields such as Engineering, Architecture, and Business, it is difficult for me to size up the more liberal artsy departments in the college. Are these programs moderately strong despite the influence of Tech's flagship departments? Do they get the short end of the stick when it comes to attention and/or funding from the University? Are they somewhat reputable/respected on the nationwide scene? I know there are many other colleges with much stronger liberal arts programs, but would my education be SUBPAR if I pursued an English major at VT? I'm not asking for a world renowned program, but it is very important that I can at least get a great education.</p>

<p>Sorry for all of the questions, I'm just trying to figure out my life a little bit. Thanks for your support.</p>

<p>My D is graduating next week Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and French. She had a great experience, and some great teachers who taught her how to write well. She loved every minute of it. I’ll try to get her to post on here and tell you about it.</p>

<p>hi thinkingahead-