Waitlisted...

After applying in November and getting a deferral in January, I got my admissions decision tonight of being waitlisted. Does anyone know the probability of getting in after a waitlist? I don’t know how much longer I can take of all this waiting. It’s slowly killing me from the inside out haha. Any recommendations on what my next steps should be at this point? Thanks.

I’m in the exact same boat @mneagles

I’m no expert on UW-Madison’s admissions process, but I do think that they’re waiting on the decisions of those who were accepted. If you think about it, there can be only so many students that can be admitted into a University. Transfer applicants (which includes me), have not heard back. This means that admissions will also be waiting for those accepted transfers to make a decision on whether to attend or not. If lots of people deny admission and decide to go somewhere else, you’ll have a higher chance at scoring a spot in the University.

Again, I could be wrong but it just seems like the most logical answer for those who are “waitlisted”. I guess your chances of getting in depend solely on the admitted students and their decision to attend or not. BEST OF LUCK!

Same here, dying to get off the list. This year isn’t rolling admission so the turn out for waitlist people can go either way. Just gonna cross my fingers - best of luck to you too.

You should plan on SIRing by May 1 to your best option and get excited about it. My experience with other school is it could take until July or later to find out.

Transfer students are NOT in the same admissions pool as entering students. New freshmen are presumed to be taking many of the introductory classes, both for the major and to meet breadth requirements, while transfers presumably will have already taken those classes. Limits need to be set on new freshmen so students can get their classes.

Does anyone know if they move people off the wait list all at once of if that is a rolling process?